FIFA Ballon d’Or


The FIFA Ballon d’Or award replaced the FIFA World player of the year in the year 2010, due to the merging of France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the FIFA World Player of the Year awards. This award is given to the best player who has performed the best in the previous season. This is awarded based on the votes of coaches and captains of international teams as well as journalists from around the world. The results are then made public by FIFA and so everyone can know who voted for whom and so on. There is an opinion amongst critics that a secret ballot be used to determine the best player, else it is quite easy for people to have bitter feelings about who voted for whom and so on, but on doing so ,the popularity of the event would undoubtedly go down. And hence the public display.
The winner of the first ever FIFA Ballon d’Or award in 2010, was Lionel Messi who then went on to reclaim the title the following year. Lionel Messi was followed closely by Cristiano Ronaldo and Xavi in 2011.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply